This is a Fitness Post.

A few weeks ago, I turned 39 years old.  I work a physically demanding job.  In my youth, I was a fitness freak.  I worked out with friends for fun.  From my late teens to late 20s, I was the model picture of health (not to toot my horn too loudly or anything).  Turning the corner on 30, friendships, while not ending, did change, as in the amount of time we all had to hang together, and run in the park, or hit the weights.  Some of us got married and moved away.  Some of us had kids.  You know the story.  From my early 30s to present day, my attention to personal health has ebbed and flowed, but mostly ebbed.

I didn’t, (and still don’t, actually), care about having that beach-ready body of my earlier years.  I’m married, and lucky enough to have a wife who cares more about my health than what I look like in a banana hammock “mankini“.  My workouts during this ebb and flow, mainly consisted of weight work, with light cardio.  And when I was performing this kind of workout on a steady, routine basis, I felt better, but because of my atrocious diet, I was beginning to look worse.  Again, I don’t care about looking like I’m 23 at 39, but something had to give!

I remembered a childhood friend, whom was always overweight, yet athletic.  In his mid 30s, he dedicated his life to the new craze, involving plyometrics and healthy eating.  In his MID 30s, he totally transformed himself to the point where you wouldn’t recognize him without a double-take.  I remembered this friend, and reached out to him on tips for eating a better balanced diet.  (Ugh, that word!)  Instead of giving me the easy answer, which he knew by personal experience, as not being an answer at all, he recommended I take a two month challenge of high-intensity plyometrics by way of a popular program.

I researched the program, after his over-the-phone lecture, and studied up on YouTube, of all places, in order to see how it worked with “regular people”, as if my mind was trying to convince itself that my friend’s success was anything other than “normal”.  To my surprise, his success with the programs and others like it was the norm.  I watched countless before and after videos, where former “flabbies” were chiseled and promoting these programs, and promoting healthy eating, (which I’ve learned is nowhere near as difficult as my sugar-craving brain made it out to be).  As it turns out, I’m rarely hungry, and I’m starting to better survive the grueling, sweat drenching workouts.

And so, the point of this post is to serve as personal motivation to myself, (and maybe for YOU), to complete the program I’ve started, and to post my before and after shots once I’m done.

I don’t delete old blogs, especially not those that today embarrass me.  Therefore, if I flake, this blog will shame me, to me, forever.

One response to “This is a Fitness Post.

Leave a Reply

