The Peasant Voter

The Peasant Voter

The Peasant Voter

Since I was old enough to cast my vote, I have done so.  When I was younger, I voted for the man who I thought spoke to me when it came to the issues at hand.  Raised in a family of democrats, I usually voted for the “blue ties”.  It was sacrilege to vote for the “reds” in my family, which I’ve always found very strange. 

You see, Latino families are structured by generations of people who usually follow the republican platforms of conservatism, the church, and family.  To this day, especially in the midwest, Latinos are easily won over by “Spanish-speaking” politicos who sing their usual songs in the hopes of winning the “minority-Latino” votes, of which there are much more than the prefix would suggest;  2004 should serve as proof of this theory.  My family, along with many Nuyorican families, especially in the northeast, somehow became the exception to the Latino rule.  Again, we’re mostly democrats.

Which leads me to the subject and my opinion(s) of The Peasant Voter.  This morning, for the first time in my life, I was on the longest of lines of voters.  As unfair and inappropriate, and pretentious, as what I’m about to say is, I can’t help but feel it’s the honest to G-D truth:  they were all there to vote for Obama.  This is isn’t a McCain/Palin kind of town.  Never has been, but I can’t honestly say it will never be.  The town is changing under the new administration, and I’m pushing for the change, even if with a weary eye of caution. 

But the people on line with me today, The Peasant Voters, they were voting, (many perhaps for the very first time), simply for a man who looks like them – a Black man.  A part of me has a problem with this, because I doubt most of the people there know anything about his voting record, or his stances on any issue.  Again, this might seem terrible of me to say,  but I’m allowed.  I’m not separate from these people.  These people are my people because, I too, am a peasant voter.  The part of me which doesn’t have a problem with their reasons for voting, are slowly becoming my reasons for voting as well.  The issues will hardly ever stand a chance next to the present problems at hand, and the tough decisions that have to made in order to get our country back on track. 

Quite honestly, I would’ve voted for McCain if not for two very simple reasons:  one, he’s too old in my opinion.  And two, Sarah “You Betcha” Palin.  I’m not at all impressed with Biden, and quite frankly, I don’t know too damn much about Barack Hussein Obama.  These past 8 years under Dubya, and republican rule, have downright made a mess and a mockery of the United States, and I highly doubt it’s going to be “fixed” in one presidential term.

Update:  The above was written hours before the election results.

The results are in, and as you all must know by now, “the good guys” won.  We have our second Black president, but this one actually looks Black.  History was made;  people cried and fainted;  and more than half of the country felt a sigh of relief.  Now back to reality, and I wonder how Latinos, Blacks, the youth, and White college graduates will feel about the sacrifices we will have to make as a country in order to ease up this debt – an amount  we’ll be fighting to diminish for decades to come?

Call me apathetic and negative if you will.  Call me an asshole like my good friend Nari did.  But like her, once the bubble pops, once the feelings of elation, joy, excitement, and relief have passed, and once the tears of happiness have been dried and wiped away, we, The Peasant Voters, will still be in a hell not of our own making.

As the picture above suggests:  my head might be cool right now, but my ass is still on fire.

And so is yours.

One response to “The Peasant Voter

  1. The answer I was going to provide way back when on this post has now been summed up over here: How the president-elect tapped into a powerful—and only recently studied—human emotion called “elevation.”

    Basically that the emotion of hope alone has the power to do Real Work in several ways–
    * constituent support builds political will for obama to be able to achieve more action in less time (change on a government level)
    * constituent hero worship opens ears and gives obama a window to draw attention to issues, identify priorities, raise awareness, and inspire action (change on a personal level)

    Like

Leave a Reply

