Up In Newark

It’s been a heavy and strange day.  I woke up early in the morning because my apartment’s security phone was ringing.  It only rings when I have a delivery of food or a package waiting for me in the lobby.  I hobbled to the phone, and it turned out to be the latter.  Sure that I didn’t order anything recently, I wondered whom had sent me what?  I quickly brushed my teeth, got dressed, and caught the elevator down.  Mr. DHL was waiting for me with a package intended for someone else in the twin building of my complex.  Needless to say, I was pissed that the security guard didn’t check before giving me a ring.

Back in my apartment, 17 flights up, I undressed, and jumped online.  I listened to music, chain smoked, and checked all of my accounts for activity.  Early in the afternoon, I grew hungry, but decided to go back to sleep.  I set my alarm for 6pm, as I had a Goju Ryu class set up for 6:30pm.  I made it to class 15 minutes late, but it was a good class, and I worked up quite a sweat.  It’ll probably be my last class until I return from vacation in Florida.  Since I forgot my ipod at home, I listened to my local jazz station WBGO.  The host had two guests today, a social doctor of some sort, and my city’s mayor Cory Booker.  They were discussing and taking calls on the subject of Newark’s education system, and how it is in desperate need of an upgrade.  No one discussed where the problem with our kids originally start.  So I called in to make a comment and pose a question.  I mentioned that I’m a lifelong Newark resident, and that the problem starts at home.  I personally know and live around parents more concerned with their next can of cheap beer, and not on whether or not their children know how to read.  I also mentioned how the radio show was only preaching to the choir.

The doctor was the first to respond, and quickly went onto say that “we’re definitely doing more than just preaching to the choir”, and broke off on so many tangents, that my question went unanswered.  My question was this:  “What do we do about the downtrodden, the uneducated, and the willfully ignorant?  Our city, Newark, is only as strong as its weakest link.  The same applies to our state, and the same applies to our country as a whole.”

My mayor responded as eloquently as always.  I gotta tell you folks, I’ve NEVER listened to a more eloquent speaker in my life.  This man, Cory Booker, could take on Barrack Obama any day of the week!  It’s the truth.  The mayor warned me and the listeners to beware of our negativity, and to push and keep moving forward.  As I had mentioned the two women in my life who set me on the right path, he went on about how they were courageous figures in my life, and true heroes (heroines).  He then went on to mentioned personal responsibility and programs in place to help the people I spoke about, but there was something missing.  I let both the doctor and mayor speak without interrupting, and all the while I thought to myself:  Democrats are the champions of the middle class, Republicans only look out for the rich, but no one has any solutions to cure the problems of the poor – my people.  This is where I’m from.  It’s with them that I’ve always lived.  It’s with them that I live now.  I was thanked for my call, and they moved on to other topics.

The call happened in my complex’s parking lot.  Afterwards, I went upstairs, showered, and my girlfriend called me.  For reasons that bear no importance to you or this post, I broke up with her.  It had to be done due to the unmentionable reasons.  I felt, (and still feel), very bad.  I called a cousin for a much-needed favor, and visited him at his place of business.  He helped me out where I needed him, but then he and another cousin had implanted that whole 2012 crap in my head, and now I’m wondering how important any of this will be, come that time?

In closing, it’s been a terrible day.  A wreck of a day on my emotions.  That’s all.

One response to “Up In Newark

  1. Planet X is an urban legend….. it is not backed by any credible source in the scientific community.. Life will kill you before planet X does.

    Like

Leave a Reply

