Socially Tiring.

Today was one of those days.  It wasn’t neccessarily a bad day.  Not at all.  It was just unexpectedly busy.

I wanted to spend the day with my girlfriend – maybe catch a movie, get some food, and chill out before work tomorrow.  Her cousin from out of state was going over her cousin’s house to see the newborn baby, and they decided it’d be a good halfway point to meet up and catch up as well.  At the time, I thought it would be the nice thing to do, and maybe even a little fun.  So I picked her up, and off we went.

The drive was longer than I remembered, and already I felt some fatigue setting in.  At the cousin’s house, there were more people there than I expected, and I’m the type of person (introvert) who needs warning ahead of time to mentally prepare myself.  Without this much needed time, I tend to get drained of lifeforce rather quickly.  I was offered a beer and took it.  I was offered pizza, and had two slices.  The house dog wanted desperately to play with me, but it wasn’t the right time or place.  The dog whined as he was forced to sit and stay, as I sat down on the couch to watch the Mets lose a late-inning lead to the Braves.  (It served as one of the few highlights of the day!)

After a few hours, we bid our farewell, and headed back to my girlfriend’s parent’s place for dinner.  By then, we were hungry again, and again, the drive was terribly long.  We had dinner, then retired to the tv-room for some CNN, where it was all about race, age, and gender – the top three hot buttons politically.  I wanted to spend more time with her, but needed to recharge my batteries desperately.

I can only do this at home, alone, and online

I’m not regretting the events of the day.  Socializing is a requirement of adulthood, and I can’t reasonably refrain from ever doing it again.  It’s just one of those things we have to do as people to remain… healthy.  It’s just that people are socially tiring.

2 responses to “Socially Tiring.

  1. I agree. There are days I feel that way as well. And I definitely understand having to be warned about there being a lot of people somewhere in order to mentally prepare yourself. I’m the same way. If I don’t know what to expect, once I’m in the situation, I get a bit anxious.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Pages tagged "home alone"

Leave a Reply

