Seven Songs

I’ve been tagged to list seven songs I’m currently into, and write something about them. These are the “official” instructions:

“List seven songs you are into right now. No matter what the genre, whether they have words, or even if they’re not any good, but they must be songs you’re really enjoying now, shaping your spring. Post these instructions in your blog along with your 7 songs. Then tag 7 other people to see what they’re listening to.”

1. The Posies “Solar Sister”
Released as one of three singles off of 1993’s “Frosting on the Beater”, I did not discover this track until almost a decade later. I think it was a friend from an old chat room I used to frequent who recommended the song to me. I’m almost sure of it. Either way, I’ve been listening to this track often these days. I’ve heard both the electric and acoustic versions, and both are equally heartfelt, melodic, and slightly annoying in a way you’d like to be annoyed, (if such an annoyance is possible).

2. Radiohead “Weird Fishes/Arpeggi”
There’s something about this song, a personal favorite, that I know will never grow old for me. I’ve heard three different versions of this song — the lp version and two different live versions, easily found on YouTube. Listen to this track. You’ll either get it, or you won’t. I don’t feel like explaining why I like it.

3. Antony & the Johnsons “You Are My Sister”
Apparently, I’m on a “sister” kick lately. Antony’s voice sounds like if Tiny Tim were evil, gay, yet somehow sent from Heaven. His music is creepy, angelic, and demonic at the same time.

4. Current 93 “AntiChrist and Barcodes”
“Post apocalyptic folk” is my favorite description for this kind of music. Others call it “post industrial”. It’s almost a rejection of the progression and experimentation in sound for the traditional sound of traditional instruments. The lyrics, however, are anything but traditional. In my most humble opinion, it’s poetry at its finest, and if you don’t agree, then obviously you know nothing about anything and should choke on a sushi roll or something.

5. Madvillain “Monkey Suite”
MF DOOM and Madlib joined forces a few years ago to form Madvillain — a dynamic duo of superb, underground hip hop. Quality off-the-wall beats, times quality off-the-wall lyrics, equal truly “the illest dynamic duo on the whole block!”

6. Daft Punk “Encore – Human After All / Together – Together / One More Time (reprise) / Stardust – Music Sounds Better With You”
A homogenization/hodgepodge of a few of their hits, making one monster dance track. The floors are lucky I’m old, tired, and lacking in passion. The floors are lucky I’m not ever there if and when this track is played. I might just forget the dryness in my knees, my crunching spine, my perpetual migraine. The floors are fucking lucky.

7. David Bowie “I’m Deranged”
Whenever I hear this track, this ever-masterful track, I’m taken back to a simpler, yet more complex time in my life. Things were changing for me back in ’95, and not necessarily for the better. I don’t recall ever seeing the sun from 1995 through 1998, and that’s a terrible thing. However, I don’t recall a frown either. I was all smiles. Full of piss and vinegar. On top of the world. My only and greatest worry was the sunrise. It sounds terribly goth, and perhaps I was, but dammit if I wasn’t the happiest “black” kid in the northeast.

That’s it. That’s my list of current favorites.

Now I’ll tag some of yutes to do the same.

Palina

Jen

Rob

Rachel

Michael

TDM

Mildred

I’m following the rules, so I only chose seven of my friends, but I’m curious as to what the rest of you are currently listening to. So start up the tagathon yourselves, and link me to your pages!

2 responses to “Seven Songs

  1. Um, actually, everything on this list was played, along with some Venetian Snares. You just kept turning it down if not altogether off. :P

    Like

Leave a Reply

